Geosciences at Virginia Tech

Field Camp Listing

A six credit (semester based) geology field camp is required for the Geology option in the Geosciences B.S. from Virginia Tech. Although we no longer offer our own field camp, there are numerous camps available through other schools.

This page is designed to provide you with web links to some field camps that are offered in May, June and July, together with field camps in Australia and New Zealand during December and January. The links give information on itinerary, cost, accommodations, credits (semester or quarter), financial aid, and contacts. The camps are listed below under their home states, but the home state of the university running the field camp is not always where the field camp itself is located.

For further information and advice, or if you have additional field camp links to add to this website, please contact Dr. R. D. Law.

Domestic Field Camps


(type field camp school name here)
Contact Information:

Alabama
University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa
Contact Information:
Dr. Harold Stowell
geology@geo.ua.edu
(205) 348-5095
hstowell@geo.ua.edu
(205) 348-5098
Website:
http://geo.ua.edu/new-mexico/
will have 2014 camp; 5 week course; 6 credits, site updated in November

University of South Alabama, Mobile
Contact Information:
David T. Allison
dallison@jaguar1.usouthal.edu
(251) 460-6381
Website:
http://www.usouthal.edu/geography/allison/GY480/FieldCourseInfo.html
out-of-state tuition; check pre-requisites like pocket transit and GPS

Alaska
University of Alaska Fairbanks, Fairbanks
Contact Information:
Bill Witte
Bill Witte <witte@alaska.edu>
907.474.7809
Elisabeth Nadin
enadin@alaska.edu
Website:
http://www.uaf.edu/geology/academics/field-camp/
8 credits, next camp 2015

Arizona
University of Arizona, Tucson
Contact Information:
Anne Chase
achase@email.geo.arizona.edu
(520) 621-6004
Website:
http://www.geo.arizona.edu/node/274
Application Deadline: January 15, 2014

Arkansas
University of Arkansas, Fayetteville
Contact Information:
Lisa Milligan
lmilliga@uark.edu
479-575-3355
Greg Dumond
gdumond@uark.edu
479-575-3411
Website:
http://geosciences.uark.edu/2607.php
will have 2014 camp; apply by February 15 for scholarships

California
Humboldt State University, Arcata
Contact Information:
Andre Lehre
schwab@humboldt.edu
707-826-3950
Website:
http://www.humboldt.edu/geology/academics/field_camp/
Approximately May 19-June 19, 2014; take outside students; 3 different mapping areas

Colorado
Colorado State University, Ft. Collins
Contact Information:
Sven Egenhoff
sven@warnercnr.colostate.edu
(970) 491-0749
John Ridley
jridley@warnercnr.colostate.edu
(970) 491-5943
May 28 to July 1, 2014; interested students should email Dr. Egenhoff

Mesa State College, Grand Junction
Contact Information:
Rick Livaccari
rlivacca@coloradomesa.edu
(970) 248-1081
Will have 2014 camp

Florida
Florida Atlantic University, Boca Raton
Contact Information:
David Warburton
warburto@fau.edu
(561) 297-3312
Website:
http://cosweb1.fau.edu/~warburton/Summer2013/GLY4790_E13/SFC_2013_Photo_Index.html
not enough students to have 2014 camp; do accept outside students; contact Warburton

Florida State University, Tallahassee
Contact Information:
James Tull, Field Camp Director
tull@gly.fsu.edu
(850) 644-1448
Website:
http://www.gly.fsu.edu/fldcamp.html
Had 2012 camp; contact Tull for information

Georgia
Georgia State University, Atlanta
Contact Information:
Hassan Babaie
hbabaie@gsu.edu
(404) 413 5766
Website:
http://www2.gsu.edu/~geohab/Babaie/pages/geol4009/geol4120-4121.htm
accept outside students; apply by February 15 for scholarships

University of Georgia, Athens
Contact Information:
Mike Roden
mroden@uga.edu
(706) 542-2416
Website:
http://geology.uga.edu/index.php/fieldschools/471
Will not have room for outside students; advises that this will be national problem; make your choice early

Idaho
Idaho State University, Pocatello
Contact Information:
linkpaul@isu.edu
(208) 282-3846
Website:
http://geology.isu.edu/FieldCamp
Field Camp Dates . . . May 26 to June 29, 2015 . . . . Applications must be received by . . . February 1st.

Illinois
Eastern Illinois University, Charleston
Contact Information:
Craig A. Chesner
cachesner@eiu.edu
(217) 581-6323
Susan Kile
skkile@eiu.edu
(217) 581-2626
Website:
http://www.ux1.eiu.edu/~cfrbj/camp/fldcmp.html
There will be no camp for 2014

Illinois State University, Normal
Contact Information:
David Malone
dhmalon@ilstu.edu
(309) 438-2692
Website:
http://www.geo.ilstu.edu/fieldcamp/
May 13-June 22, 2014; Will update mid-November; costs approximately the same as last year

Northern Illinois University, De Kalb
Contact Information:
Mark Fischer, Field Camp Director
mfischer@niu.edu
(815) 753-7939
Anne Johnson
lasep@niu.edu
815-753-5200
Website:
http://www.niu.edu/geology/courses/field_techniques.shtml
will be 2014 camp but expensive for out of state students;probably limited outside students

Southern Illinois University, Carbondale
Contact Information:
Eric Ferre
eferre@geo.siu.edu
(618) 453-7368
geology@geo.siu.edu
Website:
http://www.geology.siu.edu/field-camp/
June 15-July 28, 2014

Western Illinois University, Macomb
Contact Information:
Dr. Peter Calengas
PL-Calengas@wiu.edu
(309) 298-1151
Website:
http://www.wiu.edu/cas/geology/fieldcamp.php
May 18 through June 28, 2014

Wheaton College, Wheaton
Contact Information:
Stephen O. Moshier, Director (VT BS '77)
Stephen.O.Moshier@wheaton.edu
(630) 752-5856
blackhills@wheaton.edu
Website:
http://www.wheaton.edu/BlackHills/
June 2 - July 25, 2014 camp

Indiana
Ball State University, Muncie
Contact Information:
Rick Fluegeman, Director
rfluegem@bsu.edu
(765) 285-8267
Brenda Rathel
geology@bsu.edu
(765) 285-8270
Website:
http://cms.bsu.edu/Academics/CollegesandDepartments/Geology.aspx

Indiana University, Bloomington
Contact Information:
Karla Lewis
kaklewis@indiana.edu
812-855-1475
Bruce J. Douglas
douglasb@indiana.edu
812.855.3848
Website:
http://www.indiana.edu/~iugfs/
NOTE: AFTER October 1 we will begin accepting applications for the 2015 field season.

Iowa
Iowa St. Univ. of Science & Tech., Ames
Contact Information:
Carl Jacobson, Department Chair
geology@iastate.edu
Deann Frisk
dfrisk@iastate.edu
515-294-4477
Website:
http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/undergraduate-studies/isu-field-camp-new/
Full for 2014

Kansas
Ft. Hays State University, Hays
Contact Information:
Kenneth Neuhause
kneuhaus@fhsu.edu
(785) 628-5349
Website:
http://www.fhsu.edu/geo/programs/Field-Camp/
Full for 2014

University of Kansas, Lawrence
Contact Information:
Dr. Doug Walker
jdwalker@ku.edu
785-864-7711
Website:
http://www.geo.ku.edu/fieldActivities/fieldCamp.html
will have 2014 camp; may not have room for outside students

Wichita State University, Wichita
Contact Information:
William Parcell
william.parcell@wichita.edu
316-978-3141
Website:
http://webs.wichita.edu/?u=geoscience&p=/FieldStudies/fieldcampWY

Kentucky
University of Kentucky, Lexington
Contact Information:
Professor Frank Ettensohn
f.ettensohn@uky.edu
859-257-1401
academically and physically intense
Website:
http://ees.as.uky.edu/geology-field-camp-ees-323
next camp 2015, run camp odd years only; out-of-state tuition, contact Dr. Ettensohn

Louisiana
Louisiana State University, Baton Rouge
Contact Information:
Heather Lee
heather@lsu.edu
225-578-2946
Amy Luther, Director
Website:
http://geology.lsu.edu/FieldCamp/item38782.html

University of Louisiana, Lafayette
Contact Information:
Timothy Duex
TDuex@louisiana.edu
337-482-6222
Carl Richter
crichter@louisiana.edu
337-482-5353
Website:
http://geology.louisiana.edu/classes/fieldcamp/index.shtml

Michigan
Albion College, Albion
Contact Information:
Mick McRivette, Camp Director
Carol Caswell
ccaswell@albion.edu
(517)-629-0276
Website:
http://campus.albion.edu/geofieldcamp/
Camps on even numbered years; Will have 2014 camp

Minnesota
University of Minnesota, Duluth
Contact Information:
Dr. Jim Miller, Co-Director
mille066@d.umn.edu
218-726-6582 or 218-720-4355
prc@d.umn.edu
Website:
http://www.d.umn.edu/prc/fieldcamp
July 6-August 15, 2014; $3600 for everyone; REGISTER by January 24

Missouri
Missouri University of Science and Technology
Contact Information:
John Hogan (VT GEOS grad)
jhogan@mst.edu
(573) 341-4466
Website:
http://gse.mst.edu/fieldcamp/fieldcamp/
2013 (see Dr. Law, 3 credit advanced camp); Information Letter (PDF)

University of Missouri, Columbia
Contact Information:
Miriam Barquero-Molina, Field Camp Director
barqueromolinam@missouri.edu
573-882-9557
Alice Thompson, Administrative Assistant
ThompsonAE@missouri.edu
573-882-6785
Website:
http://fieldcamp.missouri.edu/geninfo.html
June 1 - July 12, 2014 camp; take outside students; 3 forms to fill out

Montana
Montana St. Univ, Bozeman
Contact Information:
Steve Custer
scuster@montana.edu
(406) 994-6906
Website:
http://www.montana.edu/wwwes/programs/geologycamp.htm
Will have 2014 camp; Out of state tuition Montana estimate (PDF)

University of Montana, Missoula
Contact Information:
Jim Sears
james.sears@umontana.edu
(406) 243-5251
Marc Hendrix
marc@selway.umt.edu
(406) 243-5278
Website:
http://www.umt.edu/ugresearch/default.php
No camp in 2014; take outside students

Nebraska
University of Nebraska-Lincoln
Contact Information:
DeAnn Frisk, Iowa State
geology@iastate.edu
515-294-4477
Carl Jacobson
Website:
http://www.ge-at.iastate.edu/undergraduate-studies/isu-field-camp-new/
Run through the Iowa State University; 2014 camp full

Nevada
University of Nevada, Reno
Contact Information:
Sean P. Long, Camp Director
splong@unr.edu
(775) 682-8750
Website:
http://www.unr.edu/geology/summer-field-camp
Will have 2014 camp; take outside students; site updates in January

New York
SUNY at Buffalo, Buffalo
Contact Information:
Marcus Bursik
mib@buffalo.edu
(716) 645-3489
geology@buffalo.edu
(716) 645-3489 x 6100
Website:
http://www.geology.buffalo.edu/fieldcamp.html
May 21, 2014-June 21, 2014; $1945 fee plus tuition

SUNY at Oswego, Oswego
Contact Information:
Dr. David Valentino (VT Grad)
dvalenti@oswego.edu
(315) 312-2798
Website:
http://www.oswego.edu/academics/colleges_and_departments/departments/earth_sciences/degree_programs/geology.html
May 20 to June 20, 2014; click on field camp link on left

SUNY College at Cortland, Cortland
Contact Information:
Gayle Gleason
Gayle.Gleason@cortland.edu
(607) 753-2816
Website:
http://web.cortland.edu/gleasong/fdcamp.html
May 21-June 17, 2014; be sure to take enough weeks to get 6 credits

North Carolina
North Carolina System
Contact Information:
Stephen B. Harper
HARPERS@ecu.edu
336-413-4164 cell
(252) 328-4391 fax
Website:
http://core.ecu.edu/geology/HARPER/SummerFieldCourse/index.htm
2014 Camp Visitor Application (PDF)

Ohio
Bowling Green State University, Bowling Green
Contact Information:
Jeff Snyder, Field Course Co-Director
jasnyd@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-0533
Kurt Panter, Field Course Co-Director
kpanter@bgsu.edu
(419) 372-7337
Website:
http://www.bgsu.edu/departments/geology/page58467.html
May 19-June 25, 2014; scholarships & waiver of non-state fees may be possible

Kent State University, Kent
Contact Information:
geology@kent.edu
(330) 672-4124
Website:
http://www.kent.edu/geology/fieldcamp/index.cfm
Summer 2015: June 8- July 11,Summer 2016: June 13- July 16

Miami University, Oxford
Contact Information:
Jeannie Johnston
johnstj@miamioh.edu
513-529-8183
William Hurt
hartwk@miamioh.edu
513.529.3216
Website:
http://www.muohio.edu/fieldgeology/
will have 2014 camp; No out of state tuition; will take outside students

Ohio State University, Columbus
Contact Information:
Anne Carey
carey@geology.ohio-state.edu
614-292-2375
Website:
http://www.geology.ohio-state.edu/students.php

University of Akron, Akron
Contact Information:
Verne Friberg, Field Camp Director
LFribe1@uakron.edu
(330) 972-8046
John Peck
jpeck@uakron.edu
(330) 972-7659
Website:
http://www.uakron.edu/geology/academics/field-camp/
Not a good option since it is two 3 credit courses in different years, May-24-July 2nd 2014.

Oklahoma
Oklahoma State University, Stillwater
Contact Information:
Jim Puckette
"Puckette, Jim" <jim.puckette@okstate.edu>
(405) 744-6358
Website:
http://geology.okstate.edu/field-camp
Summer 2016: June 13- July 16enrollment will include approximately 30 seats for non-OSU students

Oregon
University of Oregon, Eugene
Contact Information:
Ray Weldon
ray@uoregon.edu
(541) 346-4584
Paul Wallace (volcanologist) and Samantha Hopkins (strat/paleo)
pwallace@uoregon.edu
(541) 346-5985
Website:
http://uoregon.edu/%7Edogsci/undergraduate/field_camp
unusual set up; see Dr. Law if you are interested in this camp

Pennsylvania
Lehigh University, Bethlehem
Contact Information:
Frank J. Pazzaglia, Director
fjp3@lehigh.edu
PHONE 610-758-3667; FAX 610-758-3677
Ms. Laura Cambiotti
ljc0@lehigh.edu
610-758-3661
Website:
http://www.lehigh.edu/~fjp3/fieldcamp/index.html
No field camp in 2014

Pennsylvania State Univ., University Park
Contact Information:
Nicole Stocks
nms13@psu.edu
Don Fisher
dmf6@psu.edu
814-865-3206
Website:
http://www.geosc.psu.edu/field-camp
May 29-July 13, 2014; should have some spots for outside students

South Carolina
University of South Carolina, Columbia
Contact Information:
Doug Crowe
crowe@gly.uga.edu
(706) 542-2382
Website:
http://geology.uga.edu/index.php/fieldschools/471
In conjunction with the University of Georgia

Tennessee
University of Memphis, Memphis
Contact Information:
Daniel Larsen
dlarsen@memphis.edu
901-678-4358
out of state tuition, therefore, very expensive; 2014 camp
Website:
https://secure.touchnet.com/C20227_ustores/web/store_main.jsp?STOREID=25&SINGLESTORE=true
For Information Field Camp Info (PDF)

Texas
Baylor University, Waco
Contact Information:
Steve Dworkin
Steve_Dworkin@baylor.edu
(254) 710-2186
June 4-July 9, 2013; accept outside students but expensive; no web site, use email for information

Stephen F. Austin St. Univ., Nacogdoches
Contact Information:
LaRell Nielson, Camp Director
rnielson@sfasu.edu
(936) 468-2248
Chris Barker
cbarker@sfasu.edu
(936) 468-2340
Website:
http://www.geology.sfasu.edu/fieldcamp.html

University of Houston, Houston
Contact Information:
Virginia Sisson, Field Camp Director
vbsisson@uh.edu
(713) 743-3402
Tram Nguyen
tnguye36@mail.uh.edu
(713) 743-3413
Website:
http://www.geosc.uh.edu/research-institutes-programs/ybra-field-camp/index.php
June 3-July 7, 2014 and July 7-August 10, 2014

University of Texas, Arlington
Contact Information:
John Wickham, Department Chair
Geology@UTA.edu
(817) 272-2987 phone
(817) 272 2628 fax
Website:
http://www.uta.edu/ees/index.php?i=academics&s=undergraduate&u=fieldcamps
Probably no room for outside students in 2014

Utah
Southern Utah University, Cedar City
Contact Information:
Dr. Jennifer Hargrave
jenniferhargrave@suu.edu
435-865-8429
Website:
http://www.suu.edu/cose/physci/fieldcamp/
will have 2014 camp; begin accepting outside applications in January

Virginia
James Madison University
Contact Information:
Steven Whitmeyer
whitmesj@jmu.edu
540.568.7119
Scott Eaton
eatonls@jmu.edu
540.568.3339
Website:
http://www.jmu.edu/geology/fieldcourse/
Apply by November 1 deadline; May 20 - June 28, 2014; Ireland

Washington
Eastern Washington University
Contact Information:
Dr. Richard L. Orndorff
rorndorff@ewu.edu
509.359.2855
Website:
http://www.ewu.edu/CSHE/Programs/Geology/EWU-Field-Camp-Info.xml
June 22 to July 19, 2015,Application deadline: February 20, 2015

Western Washington Univ., Bellingham
Contact Information:
Dr. Doug Clark
Doug.Clark@wwu.edu
Dr. Stelling
pete@geol.wwu.edu
Website:
http://geology.wwu.edu/geo410/
Geology 409 Field Methods & Theory and Geology 410 Geologic Mapping will be taught Summer 2014 from 6/24 8/5

West Virginia
West Virginia University, Morgantown
Contact Information:
Joe Lebold, Lead Instructor
joe.lebold@mail.wvu.edu
(304) 293-0749
Dr. Thomas Kammer
tkammer@wvu.edu
(304) 293-9819
Website:
http://geology.wvu.edu/undergraduate/field-camps
Not able to take outside students this year; contact Dr. Lebold if interested

Wisconsin
Beloit College, Beloit
Contact Information:
Dr. Carl Mendelson
mendelsn@beloit.edu
(608) 363-2223
Next camp will be 2015; see attached info for details. Information Letter (PDF)

University of Wisconsin, Madison
Contact Information:
Philip Brown
pbrown@geology.wisc.edu
(608) 262-5954
Website:
http://www.fieldcamp.org/
will have 2014 camp; update soon

University of Wisconsin, Oshkosh
Contact Information:
Dr. Timothy Paulsen
paulsen@uwosh.edu
(920) 424-7002
Tom Suszek
suszek@uwosh.edu
Website:
http://www.uwosh.edu/faculty_staff/paulsen/fieldcamp.html
June 7-July 20, 2014; limited number of outside students; contact Paulsen to get on waiting list

Wyoming
University of Wyoming, Laramie
Contact Information:
Erin Campbell-Stone
erincs@uwyo.edu
(307) 766-2053
Website:
http://geology.uwyo.edu/?q=summerfieldcamp
2014 camp will be full with their own students



International Field Camps


Africa and Kenya
Michigan Tech
Contact Information:
James Wood
jrw@mtu.edu
John Compton
john.compton@uct.ac.za
Website:
http://geo-kenya.com/
South Africa; May 12 - June 8 2015

Australia
James Cook University
Contact Information:
EarthScience@jcu.edu.au
+61 7 4781 4546
Website:
http://www.jcu.edu.au/ees/subjects/JCUPRD_052084.html
EA9002 likely only course meeting our requirements; see Dr. Law if you are interested in these field courses

Ireland
James Madison University
Contact Information:
Steven Whitmeyer
whitmesj@jmu.edu
(540) 568-7119
Scott Eaton
eatonls@jmu.edu
540.568.3339
Website:
http://www.jmu.edu/geology/fieldcourse/
Apply by November 1 deadline; May 20 - June 28, 2014; Ireland

Italy
Boise State University, Boise
Contact Information:
Claude Spinosa
cspinosa@boisestate.edu
cjnorth@boisestate.edu
Website:
http://earth.boisestate.edu/SummerCamp/
June 2-June 29, 2014, anticipated camp

New Zealand
Massey University, Palmerston North
Contact Information:
Dr. Leslie J. Singh
fieldcamp@paradise.net.nz
+64 4 977 5425
cell +64 21 1101 454
Website:
http://fieldgeology.massey.ac.nz/
December 29, 2012-February 1, 2013 every year; now taking applications for 2013-14

Turkey
South Dakota School of Mines & Tech., Rapid City
Contact Information:
nuri.uzunlar@sdsmt.edu
(605) 394-2494 phone
(605) 394-6703 fax
Website:
http://geologyfieldcamp.sdsmt.edu/
You must talk with Dr. Law before signing up for either of these camps

Geosciences students look forward to great field trips!

Undergraduate students ponder some local geology on a field trip run as part of GEOS 2444 (Geoscience Field Observations.)