Geosciences at Virginia Tech

Contact Us

Geosciences Main Office

The Geosciences main office accepts letters and packages on behalf of our faculty, staff, and students at the following address:

Mailing Address:
Geosciences (MC0420)
Derring Hall, RM4044, Virginia Tech
1405 Perry ST
Blacksburg, VA 24061
USA

Phone: +1.540.231.6521
Fax: +1.540.231.3386
geosciences@vt.edu

Head

Dr. Nancy L. Ross
4044 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6894
nross@vt.edu

Administrative Assistants

Ms. Mary McMurray
4044 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6521
mcmurray@vt.edu
Ms. Ellen Mathena
4044 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6894
mathena@vt.edu

Business Manager

Ms. Jo Thomason
4044b Derring Hall
+1.540.231.8822
thomasoj@vt.edu

Undergraduate Student Affairs

Ms. Connie Lowe, Student Coordinator
4050 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.8824
clowe@vt.edu

Dr. Richard D. Law, Chair of Undergraduate Affairs
5105A Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6685
rdlaw@vt.edu

Graduate Student Affairs

Ms. Connie Lowe, Student Coordinator
4050 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.8824
clowe@vt.edu

Dr. Kenneth A. Eriksson, Chair of Graduate Student Affairs Committee
2045 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.4680
kaeson@vt.edu

Alumni Relations

Dr. Michael F. Hochella, Jr.
5049 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6227
hochella@vt.edu
Ms. Mary McMurray
4044 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6521
mcmurray@vt.edu

Virginia Tech Seismological Observatory

The Virginia Tech Seismological Observatory provides information about earthquakes felt in Virginia.

Dr. Martin C. Chapman
1059 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.5036
mcc@vt.edu
Ms. Ellen Mathena
4044 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6894
mathena@vt.edu

Museum of Geosciences

The Museum of Geosciences offers exhibits and programs and is open to the public. Group visits with advance notice only, please!

2062 Derring Hall
+1.540.231.6521

Dr. Robert J. Tracy
rtracy@vt.edu
Ms. Llyn Sharp
llyn@vt.edu

Field research at home and abroad

Students in the field
Photo: Dr. M. Schreiber

Students examine the groundwater hydrology of local karst regions.

Adventures in South Africa
Photo: Dr. S. Xiao

Field studies in South Africa lead to unexpected adventures.